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Inside this issue: 

Fred’s Stores of Tennessee, 
Inc.: 
Date:  May 2, 2007 
Violation:  Section 34-14C-4(a), Code 
of Alabama, 1975 (as amended). 
Disposition:  The Board entered a 
Consent Order assessing a fine of 
$2,000, in accordance with Section 
34-14-C(a), Code of Alabama, 1975 
(as amended) 

 

Nationwide Medical 
Equipment, Inc.: 
Date:  May 2, 2007 
Violation:  Section 34-
14C-4(a), Code of Ala-
bama, 1975 (as 
amended). 
Disposition:  The Board 
entered a Consent Or-
der assessing a fine of 
$2,500, in accordance 
with Section 34-14-C(a), Code of Ala-
bama, 1975 (as amended) 

 

Caring Medical Equipment, 
Inc.:   
Date:  May 2, 2007 
Violation:  Section 34-14C-4(a), Code 

of Alabama, 1975 (as amended). 
Disposition:  The Board entered a 
Consent Order assessing a fine of 
$1,000 in accordance with Section 
34-14-C(a), Code of Alabama, 1975 
(as amended) 

 
Mid-South Home Care Services:  
Date:  May 2, 2007 
Violation:  Section 34-14C-4(a), Code 
of Alabama, 1975 (as amended). 

Disposition:  The 
Board entered a Con-
sent Order assessing 
a fine of $2,000 in 
accordance with Sec-
tion 34-14-C(a), Code 
of Alabama, 1975 (as 
amended). 

 
Companion Health 
Services: 

Date:  May 2, 2007 
Violation:  Section 34-14C-4(a), Code 
of Alabama, 1975 (as amended). 
Disposition:  The Board entered a 
Consent Order assessing a fine of 
$10,000 in accordance with Section 
34-14-C(a), Code of Alabama, 1975 
(as amended). 

Annual Action Report 

Since the last publication 
of  the HME Newsline, the 
Board has accomplished 
many goals.  A few of 
them are listed below: 

• Consumer Ad Cam-
paign Launched; 

• Hired new Board 
staff including Li-
censing Agent, Inves-
tigator and Inspector; 

• New Site Inspection 
Form created and 
posted on web site; 

• Separate application 
for Change of Ad-
dress developed and 
posted on web site; 

• Separate application 
for Change of Person 
in Charge developed 
and posted on web 
site; 

• Rules and Regula-
tions amended to 
include a Chapter on 
the Renewal Process. 

Disciplinary Actions  
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Section 34-14C-6 (a) (“Violations; penalties.”), Code of Alabama, 1975 states, 
“An entity or person found providing home medical equipment services with-
out a license as required by this act shall be subject to an administrative 
fine of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000) per day that services were pro-
vided without a license. Funds collected pursuant to this act shall be allo-
cated to the administration of the program.” 



Yes, It’s License Renewal 
Time Again. 

Please read and be familiar with the following new 
rule pertaining to license renewals.  This rule be-
came effective on May 6, 2008. 
 
1) The Home Medical Equipment Service Provider 
license shall be valid for one (1) year, expiring on Au-
gust 31st of each year; however, the initial licensure 
period for any given license may be prorated so that 
its expiration date coincides with the August 31st 
renewal date for all valid licenses.  The license fee 
will not be prorated for abbreviated licenses issued. 
2)  Failure to renew within sixty (60) days after the 
expiration date of the current license will result in an 
expired license.  Home Medical Equipment Services 
Providers will not be permitted to provide home 
medical equipment services with an expired license.  
Licensees who operate under expired licenses shall 
be subject to the penalties established under Section 
34-14-C6(a), Code of Alabama, 1975. 
3)  One (1) renewal notice will be provided by U.S 
Mail to the licensee’s last address of record sixty (60) 
days prior to the renewal date.  Licensees are re-
sponsible to maintain a current mailing address with 
the Board.  One final renewal notice will be placed by 
an automated calling service on August 21st to licen-
sees who have not renewed by this date. 
4)  To be eligible for renewal, an applicant shall: 
 (a)  Hold a valid, active Alabama license; and 
 (b)  Timely submit a completed and signed 
renewal application and required fee(s) to the Board. 
5)  Renewals will be submitted online via the Board’s 
web site.  Licensees may request manual renewal by 
making a written request to the Board office. 
6)  Failure to receive the renewal application or no-
tice of renewal shall not relieve the licensee of the 
responsibility to renew the license by the expiration 
date. 
7)  Once a license has expired, a cease and desist 
letter will be issued by certified mail to the last ad-
dress of record and a new application and inspection 
will be required for licensure. 
8)  The Board may notify third party payors, regula-
tory boards and agencies, and governmental agen-
cies responsible for reimbursement to home medical 
equipment services providers such as Medicaid and 
Medicare, of expired licenses no earlier than Novem-
ber 1st of each licensing year. 

New Chapter added to the 
Rules and Regulations:  
CHAPTER 473-X-8-.01 
Renewal of License. 
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Licenses expire on August 31, 2008.  You may renew 
your license on-line at www.homemed.state.al.us 
beginning on July 1st.  Just follow the simple on-
screen instructions that will guide you through sub-
mitting your renewal.  All you will need to get started 
is your license number and your tax i.d. number.    
This year we are offering a new service.  You will 
be able to print your renewed certificate immedi-
ately after renewing on-line.   
Thank you to all who completed your on-line re-
newal survey last year.  The response to the survey 
was overwhelmingly positive.  We have worked to 
implement many of your suggestions to make the 
on-line renewal process better suit your specific 
needs.  The surveys also indicated a desire for more 
on-line options.  Therefore, we are currently develop-
ing more on-line programs for your convenience. 

Board Launches Consumer 
Ad Campaign 
The Board launched a consumer ad campaign this 
year by placing newspaper ads in 117 Newspapers in 
Alabama for three months.  The text of this ad is  
below: 
 

Attn:  Alabama Consumers of Home  
Medical Equipment 

 
The Alabama Board of Home Medical Equipment Services 
Providers’ Mission is to protect consumers of home medical 
equipment (HME).  Be an informed and responsible con-
sumer by making sure that your provider of home medi-
cal equipment is licensed as required by Alabama Law. 
(the following exemptions apply under Ala. Code:  home health 
agencies, hospital based HME, health care practitioners eligible 
to prescribe HME, manufacturers and wholesale distributors not 
selling to the public, retail community pharmacies, hospice pro-
grams, government agencies, and mail order companies).   
 
To find licensed providers, a consumer complaint form, and 
published disciplinary actions please go the Board web site 
located at www.homemed.state.al.us. 
 
       Alabama Board of Home Medical Equipment                            
                             Services Providers 
                              P.O. Box 240636 
                    Montgomery, Alabama  36124 
        Phone:  334.215.3474   FAX:  334.215.3457 
            Web Site:  www.homemed.state.al.us  



♦ The board may deny, revoke or sus-
pend a license on any of the follow-
ing grounds:  1.  Conviction in a 
court of competent jurisdiction in 
this or any other state of a  

      criminal offense involving moral                                                                  
      turpitude or a felony. 
♦  2.  Violation of any ethical stan-

dard promulgated by the board; 
 3.  Fraud or misrepresentation 
in obtaining a license; 
 4.  Other just and sufficient 
cause including but not limited to: 
  A.  Violation of any rule, 
regulation or standard set forth by 
the board; 
  B.  Making misleading, 
deceptive, false or fraudulent repre-
sentations to clients; 
  C.  Engaging in business 
practices that are harmful or detri-
mental to the public; 
  D.  Falsifying records; 
  E.  Failure to cooperate 
with an inspection or with an inves-
tigation conducted by the board. 
  F.  Failure to report a 
change of name, address, control, 
ownership or person in charge 
within 30 days of the date such 
change occurred. 
♦ The board may resolve by agree-

ment purported violation of this 
act or the board’s rules, regula-
tions or standards with or with-
out the filing of a formal admin-
istrative notice and opportunity 
for hearing. 

♦ Any such person or entity vio-
lating the provisions of this 
chapter shall, upon conviction, 
be guilty of a Class A misde-
meanor, subject to a fine or im-
prisonment, or both; 

♦ The Board may seek an injunc-
tion against any person or en-
tity in violation and the board 
may demand and recover a civil 
penalty of $50 per day for each 
violation, reasonable attorney 
fees and court costs. 
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Caption describing picture 
or graphic. 

ABHMESP 
Alabama Board of Home  

Medical Equipment 
Services Providers 

 
Board Members 

Mike Benefield, Chair 
HME Services Industry Member 

 
Diane Garrett Williamson,  

Vice Chair 
Acute-Care Hospital Member 

 
John Beard 

Home Care Member 
 

Lewis Fuller 
HME Services Industry Member 

 
Leigh Ann Matthews 

HME Services Industry Member 
 

Roger Schofield 
HME Services Industry Member 

 
Mitchell Shirah 

Physician Member 
 

Graham L. Sisson, Jr. 
Consumer Member 

 
Diane Starnes 

HME Services Industry Member 
 

Staff 
Paula Scout McCaleb 

Executive Director 
 

Jessica Burdette 
Licensing Agent 

 
Brandy VanOrden 

Accounting 

ABHMESP Newsline is an official 
publication of the Alabama Board of 
Home Medical Equipment Services 
Providers.  This publication is intended 
for a wide audience to alert licensees to 
matters of possible procedural, legal, 
legislative, and regulatory interest.  It 
should not be relied upon, nor is it 
intended to provide legal, insurance, or 
accounting advice.  Licensees should 
consult their lawyers, insurance agents, 
and accountants before taking any 
action in response to this newsletter, as 
the opinions expressed herein may be 
completely altered by the licensees’ 
actual facts. 

 

                        

The Board’s housekeeping legislation 
was introduced again in the 2008 
Regular Legislative Session.  This 
was the third year of working to get 
this much needed legislation passed. 
Although the Board encountered no 
opposition to the Bill, it got lost 
again in the political process that 
has little to do with our Board.  We 
will introduce it again in the 2009 
Legislative Session and ask for your 
support.  You may use this newslet-
ter article which defines everything 
in the Bill when speaking with your 
Senator or Representative.   
Language in the proposed bill comes 
from suggestions from the Examin-
ers of Public Accounts and Legal 
Counsel of the Board.    After com-
pleting several audits and discipli-
nary actions, the Board has pin-
pointed weaknesses in the original 
legislation.  Many powers that are 
common to most regulatory boards 
were not written in the enabling stat-
ute and the proposed legislation will 
correct this oversight.  The legisla-
tion consists of the following amend-
ments: 
 
♦ Change the official name of the 

Board from “The Board of Home 
Medical Equipment Services Pro-
viders” to “The Board of Home 
Medical Equipment”; 

♦ Board Appointments to end on 
the anniversary date of the origi-
nal appointment with Board 
Members holding office until suc-
cessor is appointed by the Gover-
nor; 

♦ A Board Member may be removed 
at the request of the board for 
failing to attend three consecu-
tive, properly noticed meetings; 

♦ The Board may establish and 
charge reasonable fees relating to 
administrative costs for copies, 
mailing and filing services or 
other fees necessary to offset li-
censing and processing costs; 

♦ Licenses are required to be re-
newed by August 31 of each year 
but may be renewed late up to 60 
days after expiration date with a 
late fee; 



7550 Halcyon Summit Drive 
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Post Office Box 240636 
Montgomery, AL  36124-0636 
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Additional meetings may be called by the 
Board Chair, and scheduled meetings may 
change but will always be advertised in ad-
vance on the Board Web Site located at 
www.homemed.state.al.us and the Secre-
tary of State’s Web Site at 
www.sos.alabama.gov in compliance with 
the Alabama Open Meetings Act.   

 

 
 
 

July 22, 2008 
10:00 a.m. 

Board Office 
 
 

October 21, 2008 
10:00 a.m. 

Board Office 
 
 

 
 

Phone: 334.215.3474 
Fax: 334.215.3457 

Email: leadershipa@gmail.com  
www.homemed.state.al.us  
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